News Ticker

Gentlemen’s Club Review: Delilah’s Gentlemen’s Club and Steakhouse

untitled

Delilah’s Gentlemen’s Club and Steakhouse
100 Spring Garden Street, Philadelphia, PA 19123
215-625-2800
Delilahs.com
Hours: 1:00pm to 2:00am, 7 Days A Week

The Low Down
Abbreviated in part from Wikipedia.com: Delilah (meaning “[She who] weakened”) is a character in the Hebrew bible Book of Judges, where she is the (woman) whom Samson loved, and who was his downfall. Her figure, one of several dangerous temptresses in the Hebrew bible, has become emblematic: “Samson loved Delilah, she betrayed him, and, what is worse, she did it for money…”

“She did it for money…” I honestly love this line, as it perfectly sums up pretty much every dancer at any gentlemen’s club PERIOD! An appropriate name for a gentlemen’s club, I first visited Delilah’s many years ago with my father on what was a busy weekend evening and have visited on a couple of other occasions over the years prior to this review. My favorite memory (and a shout-out to my good friend Matt C.) was telling him, when he was about to get a couch dance from a stunning college-aged dancer, “have fun man, you got a good one!”… a line he still quotes to me to this day.

Location & Facilities – 4.5 Stars
Delilah’s is located at Spring Garden Street and Columbus Boulevard (formerly Delaware Avenue), extremely close to both Center City Philadelphia and Penn’s Landing. Only minutes from I-95 and the Benjamin Franklin Bridge, Delilah’s offers a large free parking lot for those coming from outside the area, taxi service for those in the area and is less than a block from the Spring Garden Station of the SEPTA Market-Frankford Line. In the same strip as Delilah’s you’ll find both Rebel Rock Bar & Bites as well as the members-only Zee Bar. The interior of Delilah’s, slightly darker than I expected due to the low lighting, featured plenty of seating at the bar, up at the stage and at tables around the dance floor.

Staff – 4.5 Stars
I arrived at around 8:30pm on a Wednesday night and paid a $10.00 cover to enter, had my ID checked and went through the metal detector, passing by a cabinet of cigars and a cigarette vending machine on my way in. The one thing that bothered me (and the reason for the 4.5 star rating) was that the front door cashier was too preoccupied with her smart phone to immediately greet me and inform me of the cover charge. I first stopped off at the men’s room, the only part of my experience at Delilah’s that really impressed me. Not only are there TV’s located directly above each urinals (yay ESPN!), but the bathroom attendant, Zaire, ran a lint roller over my back and tucked a mint into my pocket as I washed my hands! With customer service like this, this attendant should be working at the finest restaurant in the city, if not an even better gig! I was greeted at the bar by the extremely friendly bartender Cheryl who informed me of the mostly domestic beer selections before showing me the menu. Oh, and the front door cashier was still glued to her smart phone when I left for the evening.

Food and Drink – 3.5 Stars
In addition to a full bar with beer and champagne, Delilah’s extensive menu featured a heavily seafood-inspired appetizer list (calamari, shrimp, crabs and clam selections to name a few), soups, salads, burgers, pasta, assorted entrees and steaks which are priced from $36.00 for an 8-oz Filet to a $45.00 bone-in rib eye as well as a couple of desserts (yay desserts!): strawberries & whipped cream and chocolate cake. I decided to start my evening with an order of the country-style wings, which were described to me as being like “fried chicken” but turned out to be just heavily breaded wings. For my main course I had the sea bass (which was flavorful but unnecessarily over-buttered for my taste) with asparagus and wilted spinach for sides. I appreciate the effort in attempting a diverse, high-end menu but was less than thrilled with the results. The food waitress is separate from the bartender, so make sure to ask for the waitress when you’re ready to place your order.

Dancers – 4 Stars
One of my biggest regrets of my trip to Delilah’s was not getting more dances, due in part to waiting for my dinner to arrive. This isn’t something that occurs at Delilah’s only; I’ve found that, at most gentlemen’s clubs, the food takes exceptionally long to arrive. While I was munching down on my wings, I was visited at the bar by Sydney, a very attractive Dominican beauty with curly blonde hair who quickly took to caressing her hands over me. While I don’t usually enjoy having dancers rub their hands on me, Sydney did so just enough to turn me on without being overly pushy or obnoxious. Because I’m a sucker for making my female company happy, she easily swayed me into buying each of us a shot of Patrón at $13.00 a piece. As I was waiting for my main course, the lovely Asian dancer Nikky and the attractive Jamaican dancer Scarlett both kept me company with pleasant conversation. You could best describe the dancing talent at Delilah’s as being “multi-ethnic,” at least as far as it was on the weekday night that I was there. As I was finishing dinner, Renee, who caught my eye on stage with her amazing body and sexy long dark hair, came over to join me. After a few minutes of casual conversation we went into the couch dance room and I enjoyed two dances with her at $20.00 per song. Not wanting to see Renee go, I inquired about checking out the Champagne Court and was very impressed by the sexy dance and fun company that she provided. Overall, all of the dancers were outgoing and friendly and definitely made for an enjoyable evening.

Value – 3 Stars
While the menu prices were reasonable for a self-proclaimed “steak house,” the pricing for the Champagne Court is tricky and I’m still not quite sure I got all of the details correct: you purchase a bottle of Moët & Chandon White Star champagne for $180.00 which is good for up to 90 minutes in the Champagne Court and pay $160.00 to the dancer for a half hour (and can buy more time if desired). If you use your credit card you’ll pay an extra 20% for the dancer, in this case an extra $32.00. The Champagne Court is surprisingly lacking in privacy, not even providing a curtain for the spacious couch areas. For full privacy you can get a VIP room with curtain, which I didn’t partake of but was told that you’ll shell out a whopping $360 for the champagne (er, room fee) AND $400 for the dancer for a half hour. You pay for the privacy at Delilah’s and, even in the Champagne Court, there isn’t much privacy for the dollar.

Website & Social Media – 2 Stars
I was surprised for Delilah’s being, as stated on their website, “America’s #1 Gentlemen’s Club,” that I didn’t see any adult film stars being booked to make appearances or a variety of special events. The website features standard club information such as location, lunch and happy hour specials and bachelor party packages but their Full Event Calendar on their Event page is simply a list of upcoming sporting and boxing events for September (with no mention of the Philadelphia Eagles!).  There weren’t any themed club events (i.e Lingerie Night, Cigar Night, etc.) listed on the website either. In addition to a full website, Delilah’s has Facebook and Twitter pages but, unfortunately, I needed to actually call the club to find out the hours of operation.

In Brief…
The “downfall” of Delilah’s is that, for a seemingly high-end venue, the lack of quality and value compared to some of the other Philadelphia-area clubs is subtle but still noticeable. While still a worthwhile addition to the Philadelphia-area gentlemen’s club scene with its location, menu and dancing talent, with a little more effort this gentlemen’s club could be absolutely amazing.

About cjasher (857 Articles)
C.J. Asher is a blogger on various subject matters and trending topics related to sexuality, such as prostitution, women's rights, sex trafficking and LGBT issues as well as the adult entertainment industry, having interviewed celebrities such as Dennis Hof and Joanna Angel. C.J. currently resides in Philadelphia, PA and his blog can be found at CJAsher.com.

1 Comment on Gentlemen’s Club Review: Delilah’s Gentlemen’s Club and Steakhouse

  1. After spending alot of money here me and my wife were told to get up and leave. Also the gentlemen who was with us was told to leave. All because we gave a man our phone number on a card. The women are not the prettiest. there were so many rules. I wasn’t even allowed to sit on my wife’s lap although we watched the dancers the whole time and tipped several. We felt awful for having our friend drive 2 hours to go only to be thrown out. It was extremely shaddy and unprofessional.

    Like

Leave a Reply

